Posted by: Run For Life | 10 June, 2009

Week Five: Operation Bikini Bod

I am on a mission to get ready for summer!  Each week I will post an overall review, a featured workout and nutrition tips.  If you have any questions  or want me to address a certain topic feel free to comment or email me: runforlife[at]ymail[dot]com

Weekly review:
Running – 3 days
Yoga/abs/strength – 3 days
Cross-training– 6 days

Why such a measly showing on the running front?  Fortunately it is not because of an injury.  However, I’ve been having some oh-so-wonderful migraines lately and running just makes them worse.  So I put in some runs when I could but hit up cross-training as my main form of exercise this week (which technically doesn’t make it cross-training, eh?)  Hopefully this week I’ll be able to run more although the headache hasn’t resolved yet and I cannot figure out the trigger (can you say ANNOYING?!)

Fortunately, I am back on track with nutrition and had no glitches to speak of this week.  I am trying to rid myself of diet pop though.  I usually have one every other day but last week it was once/twice daily so I’m just going “cold turkey” and looking to stop (except for every once in a while like my coffee habit.)  I do enjoy flavoured seltzer water so I’m hoping this won’t even be missed (the chemicals certainly won’t!)

Featured Workout

Being that I wasn’t feeling 100% I just followed a few programs for my strength training and such.  Here’s a YouTube video I used for a glute workout.  Don’t laugh until you try it because your buns will burn baby!

Once again: I am NOT a personal trainer so try this at your own discretion.  Although, I’m assuming this guy is one…still, use your common sense.


Nutrition Tips

Today I feel like talking about sodium so I will and tough cookies if you don’t want to.  NaCl is our friend, it’s an electrolyte that our body needs in order to function properly as I’m sure you know already.  Obviously, sweating a lot requires you replace the salts and fluid you’ve lost so don’t worry about the gels and sport drinks you use.  Just be careful you don’t overdo it.

Sodium is however usually overused in the typical SAD (standard American diet.)  The DRV for sodium is 2,300 mg/day – that is the equivalent of a teaspoon.  I put extra salt on foods rarely because most already have it in there.  Health wise, lowering your sodium intake can help with hypertension and bloating. Here are some tips if you don’t already use them:

  • Season your foods with other spices and herbs.
  • Buy unsalted butter.
  • If you’re buying something processed (especially things such as deli meat and soups) look for a low sodium option.
Responses

  1. See, I don’t think I get enough sodium in my diet. I sweat so much when I run and after 90 minutes or so, i get really tight and the salt helps. I guess I need to put more of it on my foods. good post.

    • Yeah, it’s a bit different for athletes but I didn’t feel like discussing it, haha, bad I know. I find when I’m in marathon training I need more too. I get the lovely “salt crust” on my face and limbs also.

  2. I dilute my soy sauce with water – it’s really high in sodium. (Even the low sodium stuff.)
    I’m still working on the 100 push-ups…Had to repeat week 1 : (

    • Ah good idea! I usually just use a few drops of the lower sodium. I’ll try that next time, thanks. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

