Posted by: Run For Life | 21 May, 2009

Funny how that works…

I thought this song was (over dramatically) appropriate for the post.  Feel free to listen while you read!

Soundgarden – Fell On Black Days

Yesterday I had cross training on schedule but was jonesing for a run so I decided to do an easy twenty minutes. Despite my enthusiasm it was not one of those, “I can run forever!” days once I got out there.  It was more like, “the end of the block seems so far away!”  My legs were barely moving and I could not get my rhythm down.  I found myself pondering, “how do I do this running thing again exactly?”    I tried to throw in some pick-ups but the nerves just lost those messages from the brain or my legs decided they didn’t want to comply.

I then realized something else was off…I wasn’t sweating.  If you don’t already know this I usually sweat quite a bit.  It’s super attractive looking like a running drown rat, I assure you.waterbottle At first I thought it was my imagination so I touched my arms, no sweat.  Touched my face, perfectly dry.  I concluded that the wind was probably drying it up right away…yeah that must be it!  Naturally, I stretch out my shirt in front of me to see if “boob sweat” has formed.  (Of course this had to happen right when someone comes out of their front door that I’m passing!)  Nope, no boob sweat. A pretty annoying headache appeared in the last couple of kms. and then the GI tract started to speak up by giving me a lovely stitch.  At this point I couldn’t remember why I had wanted to go on a bloody run in the first place!

I knew the mercury was a tad higher but I had already consumed about 1L of water beforehand and thought I’d be ok.  It was also a different time than my regular runs, so maybe that had something to do with it.  Or perhaps I just ate more salt yesterday and that threw off the balance.  I am definitely glad I was only out for twenty minutes.  Regardless, I’ll have to rethink my hydrating strategy especially since warmer days are just around the corner.

Once I finished up I felt better in the sense that I met my mini-goal of a twenty minute run even though I wanted to walk it about ten minutes in.  I felt out of it for the rest of the day and was more thirsty than usual.  This morning I still feel parched so I’m chalking it up to my body plotting it’s revenge on all this exercise. 😉

Morals of the story:

  • Hydrate and acclimate properly in warmer weather.
  • Cross training and rest days are there for a reason.
  • You can always come here to read about the random things I do.
  • I will always love 90’s grunge!
Responses

  1. You lost me at boob sweat. Sorry, I’m a guy.

    Actually that more grossed me out than anything which, due to my warped blogging tendencies, ratcheted up my respect for your blog. Then you threw in some GI tract action and, well, well done.

  2. Weather acclimation is a skill I do not yet have…I sometimes wish I’m a chameleon, then maybe I can handle the weather change a bit better.

    Maybe by fall, we’ll finally get adjusted to the heat…just in time for it to be cool again! Haha!

    Have a great weekend.

    • Haha, I know what you mean. It seems when you don’t mind running in the cold or heat the season changes. 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

