Posted by: Run For Life | 28 April, 2009

Operation: Bikini Bod

Oh summer…how you tempt us with your hot weather, a plethora of outdoor adventures and cool treats.  The underbelly you try to hide is the panic of sunburn, short shorts, and beach humiliation.

sun

In order to combat this sneaky beast I am launching Operation: Bikini Bod.  Now, since I’m already on the quest for the elusive sexy six pack (potentially NSFW – pics of my “abs”) the battery my abs have been taking will continue.  I’ll add more upper body strength and butt blasting moves.  (Running alone does not tackle this blubber-butt!)

I hopped onto the scale and the weight is fine.  I think I need a more reliable fat analyzer though because it’s all over the map (I use a bioimpedance scale.)  Regardless of what number pops up I know how I feel/look is certainly more important.

While I already eat relatively clean (I’d estimate 85% of the time) I am going to be even more mindful the next few weeks.  Lately my calcium and iron intake has been unacceptable (Ca averaging around 40% of DRV the last month and Fe even lower…über fail.)   I do take a multivitamin but I am a strong believer that you should think of it as an insurance policy rather than the main source of micronutrients.

I’ve decided I’ll post once a week with a workout I’ve done (expect them to be similar to this one) and an update on nutrition.  Really, I’m about maintaining a healthy lifestyle ALL the time and always looking  for ways to improve it!

If any of you want to do this as well or have questions to ask, feel free.

Responses

  1. Good luck on your quest for the bikini bod! Some of the ladies here at work are organizing a Biggest Loser contest. Hopefully this will be the jump start I need to lose a few more pounds to get me down to a good race weight!

    • Good luck on your contest as well!!! Sometimes being a woman is so annoying. 😛

  2. Looks like we’re on the same quest of sorts…keep us posted!

  3. “über fail”

    Ha! I love it. Taking failboat to the next level.

  4. Keeping track of those micronutrients is such a pain. And when you do get it right it messes with your head as you try to keep track of what’s good and bad.

    good hunting for that six pack. If I find mine I’ll let you know where to look. 🙂

  5. […] One: Operation Bikini Bod I am on a mission to get ready for summer!  Each week I will post an overall review, a featured workout and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

