Posted by: Run For Life | 26 April, 2009

Marathon fever

Today I feel like running a marathon. I won’t because knowing me, I’d end up breaking something but I am considering moving up my marathon training so I can run one sooner.  Frankly, everyone else seems to be running/training for one and I feel left out!  I’m just itching to run one again.

One that looked plausible I clicked on (it was listed as “???” on marathonguide) and it’s the day of my best friend’s wedding…so that won’t work.) 😉

I was planning on starting a half training programme and then going to a full for the fall season.  I got an invitation for free entry to a half in June that I was excited about but I’ll be traveling that day and cannot change it.  ARGH!  Maybe next year.

My friend and her fiancé have started running and we’ll be doing a 10k on Canada Day together. (I feel like I’ve mentioned this before?)  Anyway, that had me SUPER excited because she’s the one that suggested a race!  Well, now she’s thinking we should do a destination 1/2 marathon together a few months after, also her idea.  HOW COOL IS THAT?!  She is going to wait and see how the next little while goes before committing just in case.  I of course said I was interested (I believe my words were,  “Now that sounds like my idea of a weekend holiday!”) but at the same time I’m trying to mask my enthusiasm a bit until it’s more concrete.  It’s probably not working though because I have no poker face. (I’m sure you’re all shocked to hear that one.)

This is a long winded way of saying that I don’t want my training plans to hinder this tentative race together (I won’t be upset if it doesn’t happen but I’m seeing the fuel belt as half full here and don’t want to leave things to chance.)  We’d be running in December….so I could definitely use the half as a training run although there are slim pickings for Dec/Jan marathons it seems.  The ultimate question is do I aim for a marathon before the 21.1k or after?  Any races you recommend as a “must run?”

I need to get my butt out the door for my long run so it’s something I’ll mull over.  Have a fantastic day!

Responses

  1. That is good news, having a friend suggest to do a race together. It is impossible to transfer ones enthusiasm for running to someone, but it is great to have someone to run ad train with.

    The half might be a good training session for the whole (though having no (1/2) marathon experience at all you probably should ignore my advice.

    Have a great weekend

    • Yeah, I am glad she’s starting to run and wants to do races together!

  2. Halves are way cool, and definitely sets you up for good full marathon training. As for a can’t miss marathon, I’d suggest NYC, but you know I’m biased =P

    Either way, i hope you and your friend find a good destination half. If it’s in my neck of the woods, that would be way too cool…again, not biased…haha!

    • Haha, I have thought about NYC so it’s definitely on the list! I’ll let you know.

  3. If on the same day as the wedding, look at the positive side…given you’re likely lowered hydration levels, it won’t take much to get a solid buzz at the party later that evening…and thus, saving your friend money on booze. 🙂

  4. Good luck finding the right race! I hope you guys weren’t planning on running the HBC Canada Day race because they have opted to cancel that one this year in order to “focus on the upcoming Olympics.” Boo….

    • Oh nooooo!!! That is the one we were going to run. ::sigh:: I just spent 15 mins. looking for another Van one on Canada Day and don’t see any. We can certainly run the course by ourselves but this would be her first race so I’d like to find something. Hmmm, and unfortunately, the Scotiabank 1/2 and 5k are when I’m traveling. Pickles. Thanks for letting me know this though! Maybe we’ll venture over to Victoria.

  5. I’d go for the marathon before the half. (Assuming you can find a replacement half to do with your friend.)

    You should be back up to snuff for a half in a few weeks after the full I’d think. I did 12 about 4 weeks after my last marathon, and I could have done it sooner.


Leave a Reply

Categories

