Posted by: Run For Life | 31 December, 2008

Running and then some.

The other day I wanted to run…I really did.  I was feeling lethargic and even though I KNEW deep down I’d feel a million times better I still kept putting it off.  By the time I decided to FINALLY get it over with I settled on going to the gym to get my mileage in so I wouldn’t have to run in the dark.

I thought I had ample time (read: 5+ hours before closing) however, this was not the case.  I was apparently a day behind things and when I arrived the gym would be closing in a half hour.  I almost went back home but figured a short workout was better than none.  Which left me doing a frantic workout with no sauna (confession: sometimes that’s the only reason I feel like going to the gym, haha.)  Of course, I did feel a lot better after and ended up kicking myself for not getting the proper workout in.

Since then I’ve been getting my run in each day and I feel back into it.  I’ve also started to bike most days…I had forgotten how much those blasted seats can hurt!

I did well over the holidays food wise – didn’t gain anything…although the past two days have been a bit more indulgent so I’m bringing it back to normal standards today.

About this whole “end of the year” thing I’m not too ecstatic.  I’m not into the New Year’s celebration crap…nor am I a fan of “resolutions” since I regularly make goals.  I DID try to make some last year and accomplished all but one…and it still felt dumb to me.  So in reality, I’ll just keep doing what works for me.

I hope you all have a safe New Year’s!

Responses

  1. Haha…I would’ve thought closing time would have made you run faster!

    I’m a resolutions guy but you do what works for you. There’s no hard and fast rules about such things as long as you pick something that works for you.

    Happy New Year!

  2. I hate when that happens. I’ve done the same thing – thought I had hours to spare, only to arrive and find I have 30 mins or something. It’s even worse when you plan to swim, as the pre and post-swim things take much longer. 😦

    But at least you made the best of it. Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

