Posted by: Run For Life | 4 November, 2008

Heeello there, muscles…

The alarm went off and I begrudgingly swung my feet over the side of the bed.  As I stood up I was more aware of my legs than usual.  They were a bit sore and as I walked over to the washroom it felt like they were filled with lead.  “Eh, no problem.”  The weird stretch in my Achilles did concern me some since I haven’t had a problem with that before.  I met The Stick with about as much fervour as someone about to poke their own eyes out.  It was painful, but necessary…at least that’s what I say to myself.  After I walked around a bit my legs started to feel better.  I did some quick yoga and then headed out for the day.

When I returned I put in a solid eight kilometers (five miles) and the legs were great.  They didn’t cramp up or go super slow, I was still a little sore but I don’t think it effected my gait.  I made this run a fartlek and had a lot of fun with it.  I ended next to a field and did some bounding to top it all off.  Take that, muscles.

—-

Random edit: Do any of you with the Nike+ system know what to do when the iPod says “Replace sensor soon.”  Just so I don’t sound really dense I mean do I need to go out and buy this thing again or is there a battery I need to replace?  Thanks.

Responses

  1. No help with the Nike+.. I’m a Garmin guy. The stick does wonders..check this out on stretching

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/11/02/sports/playmagazine/112pewarm.html?partner=permalink&exprod=permalink

  2. Yes, you will need to buy a new Nike+ set. I ran into the same prob. some time ago. Nike+ gave me the same message after 650 K.
    I decided not to buy a new one and to invest in a Garmin – though a lot more expensive, it will last lots longer and is so much more accurate and versatile.

  3. Hmmm, same problem & same solution for me. I managed just over 800km before the Nike+ died on me and after being told that i’d require a new one, it gave me a kick up the backside to invest in the new Garmin that i’d been promising myself.
    Unfortunately, my Garmin is dead already, after only around 150km and i’ve got a new one on order. I’ve only just got back to the point where i’m running sub 7min/miles in training, so it’s more of an inconvenience than a problem, but i’m surprised at how much i was already relying in the thing……..grrrrrrrr, bloody technology!!!

  4. No, you don’t have to buy a new kit, you just need a new sensor, which you can buy here:

    http://store.nike.com/index.jsp?country=US&lang_locale=en_US&l=shop,pwp,c-1+100701/f-12003/hf-4294967065/t-Nike%2B&sitesrc=USPL#l=shop,pdp,ctr-inline/cid-1/pid-162953


Leave a Reply

Categories

