Posted by: Run For Life | 19 October, 2008

Carb coma

Cyberspace ate my post.  Now that I’ve retyped it let’s hope it actually makes it this time. 😛

I think this may be a new record for my carbo loading.  Which would be fine if, you know, I had a race in a day or two…but I don’t.  ::insert extreme guilt here:: So what exactly did I carbo load on?  I’m afraid it was more than one thing:

  1. Three pumpkin muffins (the good news is they were mini that I made myself…unlike gigantic ones it seems every cafe sells…still bad enough, probably a bit more than a regular muffin. )
  2. Two pancakes
  3. 0.5 c. ice cream
  4. Half a slice of pumpkin pie

For some reason, once I found canned pumpkin I went nuts (sorry, I’d send you some if I could, Viviane!)  Exercise wise: Yesterday I did a trail run (approximately 6k) and figured out that I don’t like to run on gravel.  Fortunately, that was only for the very beginning part (maybe 400m.)  The run went relatively well, I slipped once but saw that coming so I was able to regain my balance without falling.  I did 45 mins. of weights today and tomorrow a medium length run is on the schedule as well as cross-training.

No more carb feasting is allowed, so feel free to kick my butt if I pull something like that again.  This, my RBF’s, brings me to the real reason of this post: I need to lose a few and maintain my ideal weight.  Not only is fluctuating hard on the body but also the self-esteem.  I’ve been hovering around the same weight for a while, joined Viv’s WLC lost and then gained some back, joined SLB‘s challenge and KEPT that off…and now I’m in Viv’s Marathon Season Challenge.  I’m sure most of you already know this since we tend to circulate around the same blogs but I felt the need to publicly shame myself into actually sticking with the plan this time.  Perhaps it’s because I’m a woman, but I hate discussing my weight (yes, even if it’s fine, haha.) I’ll post a full length picture tomorrow to further embarrass myself. 😐 Ugh that was painful to type.  I might just delete this post in the future, haha.

Responses

  1. It’s so weird that all runners are always trying to lose “just a few more pounds”…good luck!

  2. You’ve just got to love Autumn and all the food with pumpkin in it! My kryptonite secret is: that I can’t turn away from pumpkin spice donuts! If I go by a donut shop I suddenly, and involuntarily, find myself turning that way!

  3. The pancake and ice-cream would make a very nice combination…

    [[paranoid-mode]]
    Do realize that, once indexed by Google, any post will be difficult to get rid of on the Internet… even when deleted.
    [[/paranoid-mode]]

  4. Don’t be so hard on yourself. I eat bad sometimes and all the time, I have to finish my plate. But hey, we live and we learn 🙂

  5. Wow.. all that pumpkin. Sounds like you ready for Halloween!

  6. Guess what? I found imported canned pumpkin at a grocery store here that specializes in imported food from English-speaking countries! Now all I need is a pie dish. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

