Posted by: Run For Life | 13 September, 2008

Tar-mac 5k in Chicago

Normally I HATE connections at ORD.  However, this is one time I’d like to be in Chicago.  Many times when stuck in taxi I’ve thought they should just let us run there (obviously I think this at a destination/connecting airport.)  I mean, c’mon, sitting on the runway because another plane hasn’t left your gate?  We could save loads of time walking/running to the airport.  So actually getting to run on a tar-mac???  That’s brand spankin’ NEW…no potholes or uneven pavement?! Sweet! Someone please run this and post a race report and pictures so I can vicariously live through you.

Run a 5k at the International O’Hare Airport!

Perhaps this new runway will allow me to lessen my loathe of ORD connections.  I won’t save my breath though. 😉

Picture from the wonders of Google
Responses

  1. There’s a lot of time when running would be faster. Even at my pace!

    Sounds like a cool race!

  2. Look at you go, have tickets will travel!

  3. ORD is the WORST.

    On my way to the Phoenix RnR last January we were stuck there for over 12 hours…

    Previous to that, I was there when the DC10 went down in 1979….not my most favourite place to spend time, that’s for sure.

  4. That does sound like a fun race!

  5. This sounds like an amazing race, I’m jealous! 🙂

  6. Thanks for visiting my blog! Yes, I’ve spent many unintended extra minutes at ORD, and running the tarmac would have been better than anything I did with that time.

    Your runs in Switzerland and the UK looked fantastic!

  7. I just ran it! The runway was smooth and freshly painted, and they even left the runway lights on for us. Planes took off directly over our head!

    Of course, in a true O’Hare fashion, our start was delayed by 10 minutes.

  8. Results? Where are the results???

  9. The only link I’ve found is:

    http://www.chicagoevents.com/races.cfm

    But it doesn’t look like it’s been updated with any race results for the past couple months. If someone does find the results, please let us know.

  10. you can email the organizer at mail@chicagoevents.com

  11. The race was awesome! It was actually my first official 5k. Unfortunately I didn’t take any pictures but plenty of people were running with their cameras. Pretty intense having planes take off right over your head.

    As for results, if you go to the http://www.chicagoevents.com page, there is a link right at the top of the page that will take you to the results

  12. THANKS! That’s the link that I saw, but everytime I clicked it, it returned a blank list. After playing with it some, it looks like it’s incompatible with Firefox. Opening the same link in Internet Explorer brought up the results!

    🙂

  13. Hey everyone, here is the link for the race results. Now if only I can find pictures. It was all over the news, though.

    I had a great time, planes flyng overhead were surreal.

    http://www.theracershub.com/results_view.php?id=286&result_type=file&PHPSESSID=73370562432f7c5529a8cc8518224e1a

  14. It was a very fun race—and a great place for PRs.

    Thanks for the racershub link. Special Events Management never seems very organized about getting results out.

  15. Video at CLTV – http://www.cltv.com
    Look at the video in the middle of the screen, click on the CLTV News Video tab, click on Next (for the page 2 of video). Upper right corner is 51 seconds of video of the run.

    I participated, it was very cool to run/walk with the airplanes flying overhead. And it was quite a hot for Sept in Chicago.

  16. i was just getting over a cold, so i opted on not running that day, but i did don my camera and take a bunch of pics on the runway afterwards.

  17. i was just getting over a cold, so i opted on not running that day, but i did don my camera and take a bunch of pics on the runway afterwards….and yes, it was also quite warm that day.

  18. There are a few pictures of the race on the runway posted here:

    http://www.sistercityshuffle.org/5K%20Pics/

  19. some more pics:

    http://picasaweb.google.com/LarissaRolley/Runway#


Leave a Reply

Categories

