Posted by: Run For Life | 22 August, 2008

Destination Run – Interlaken, Switzerland

Despite the uncharacteristic overcast day and on/off rain, this run was definitely one I would recommend. Interlaken is a charming Swiss town, nestled around lakes of a brilliant turquoise colour. With countless hikes up the surrounding mountains your choices are limitless. Due to the cloud coverage I decided to just run around the town this time.

Down a pathway along the river

There are views of mountains wherever you look

Interlaken has beautiful gardens everywhere

Jungfrau mountain

Lake Thun (I took this the next day when it was nicer out but I was walking this time, lol.)

Interlaken is a great place to visit and was very peaceful. It sort of reminded me of a combination of Banff/Jasper because of the water and Alps. The backpacking and hiking you can do here is phenomenal, as is the skiing in the winter. I would like to come back and explore this part of the Bernese Oberland more. Their marathon is certainly going on my to-do list!

Some random things: This part of Switzerland is German speaking, though I found most people to also know either French or English so communication was not a problem. Overall the Swiss are very generous, helpful, and take great pride in their wonderful country (which they should!) I have never seen so many Swiss Army Knives in my life, some of them are unbelievable, haha.

All photos were taken by me.

Responses

  1. Damn, such beautiful pictures…making me so jealous you’re on vacation. So cool, so cool…enjoy!

  2. Nice photos!!!

    Next time, take me with. Please?

  3. You’ve inspired me to go for a run on a rainy, cloud-covered day here in Interlaken. I find that running through it is often the best way to discover a city.

    Hopefully see you at the Interlaken Marathon ’09, a fresh addition to my list as well.

    Cheers,
    Ryan


Leave a Reply

Categories

