Posted by: Run For Life | 31 July, 2008

Changing Pace

“With over half the year behind us but about half ahead of us, it’s a great time to look back at the goals we set for yourselves in the middle of winter and check in with our progress….” This week’s Take it and Run Thursday topic from the Runners’ Lounge could not have come at a better time for me! I’ve been thinking about this for the past few days so, here goes:

When January rolled around I bet most people didn’t fret about posting their resolutions online…but I did. I just wanted those goals for me and me alone. I’ve been able to keep about 75% of those “secret” resolutions. I don’t know if I’ll get to 100% by the end of December but that’s ok with me because I’ll have the majority finished.

I’m continuously adding or modifying goals in my life and I’ve put a few major ones in recently because a change of pace is needed:

  • Modify the diet and if it doesn’t help…get a physical soon. I’m thinking my thyroid might be an issue so I probably should contact my gp for tests, blargh.
  • Get back into top shape. This means I must add more cross-training into my routine: bike and/or swim 2-3 times per week, weights 2x week, core work 3x week. Also to be consistent with yoga and physio exercises.
  • Reinstate early morning runs. This is always a hard transition for me but I find once I do start running at the ungodly hour of 4 or 5am then I start looking forward to them. It would obviously open up more time to do the aforementioned routines so starting this Sunday I’m going to bite the bullet and get the initial A.M. run in.
  • Try to race more.
  • Modify speedwork. I’m following the FIRST programme loosely and feel that now I need to take it up a notch.
  • Push harder.

I’m looking forward to these goals and am actually excited about them because yes, I am a dork in some respects.

Responses

  1. I feel a little funny about posting goals online, too, but I’ve found that it ultimately helps me. Hope it does the same for you.

  2. The nice thing about goals is that they can always be changed, more often then not for the better or more tangible.

    Looks like you’ve got all the bases covered…enjoy the red wine and chocolate in the mean time!

  3. […] Set, Run! In my quest to start running more races I am taking baby steps. I’m signed up for Nancy’s 8 on the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

