Posted by: Run For Life | 9 July, 2008

New gear, new mindframe?

I bought some new running gear a while ago when it was on sale. This may not seem like a big deal to you all…but I purchased a pair of running shorts and a running skirt (which have been sitting in my drawer neatly folded.) I’ve never run in either before. That’s right. Even if it’s 26C/80F or more I have always run in pants, tights or capris. Well, I tried the shorts out fairly shortly after buying them and they kept creeping up. It made me feel so uncomfortable I thought I might just stop and walk but I kept going (albeit, awkwardly tugging on the shorts periodically.) I went back to running in capris.

Then, I finally mustered up the courage to put on the running skirt a few days ago. I’ll admit that my self confidence is not the greatest. I’ve been working hard for the past year to change this and it’s definitely improved a lot and the area I struggle with the most is body image. So this was a huuuge step for me. Granted, the entire time I was worried someone would see me and think I looked ridiculous, but one step at a time, right? I actually liked the skirt better than the shorts because it did not ride up. However, body glide will need to make it’s appearance more, boo to chafing!

Overall, I still like the running pants better but I think it’s probably just one of those weird mind blocks. So, I’m going to suck it up and run in the skirt or shorts for the rest of the summer.

Leave a Reply

Categories

