Posted by: Run For Life | 24 February, 2008

I am still alive…

…and no I was not swallowed into some abyss (unless we use that analogy for work.)  Unfortunately, as being consumed with work way more than I like I have also been unable to run on anything other than a sporadic schedule.  Instead, I’ve been doing some cross training and a bunch of skiing.  It just isn’t the same though and I’m hoping I’ll get my behind outside on an ACTUAL running programme this week.  Despite this, I have an announcement to make my lovely runner friends:

MY BIG TOENAIL FELL OFF!!!

Oh yes, my friends.  In all it’s necrotic glory.  This is after thinking that the blackened toenail might just stay on since it has now been a good while from the marathon. (I know, all you seasoned marathon and ultra runners are laughing at my naïvety.)  I had noticed it was “lifted” a bit more than normal the past couple of weeks but thought that the new toenail growth was just pushing it upwards.  Well, tonight it decided to bid  adieu.  Fortunately, I am not usually squeemish so it didn’t bother me at all.  I must say, looking at skin as opposed to a blackened toenail (albeit I have kept them painted) is much more esthetically pleasing.  The blood clotted quickly and I slapped on some neosporin and a bandaid.  Now my question is if I should be worried about possible infections or just let it be?  Do not fear, I am not one that has taken pictures or kept the toenail for some bizarre necklace making purposes, haha.

Aside from that, I hope it looks a little better by spring because I love wearing peep-toe high heels.  I hope you’re all doing well 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

