Posted by: Run For Life | 2 September, 2007

Water is life. Pass it on.

I have been wanting to post about this initiative for a while now because I think that it’s absolutely fabulous and very inspiring!

“What is this cause, Kirsten?” you’re probably wondering. It’s is the Blue Planet Run; which is dedicated to running across the WORLD for safe drinking water. Here’s an excerpt from the site:

The Blue Planet Run will cover 15,200 miles, across 16 countries and 4 continents, 24 hours a day for 95 days to deliver an extremely urgent and important message: we can and must begin today to alleviate the catastrophic burden placed on over a billion people who, every day, must drink unsafe local water, or travel long distances on foot to search for safe water for themselves and their families.”

HOW COOL IS THAT?!

This cause, the goal, and the runner’s are all extraordinary. Only 22 runners running across the world. Wow. Right away this struck a chord with me and I wanted to run in support of them. I initially was waiting so that I could post after I ran 10miles (16km) for them and gave a donation buuuut for some strange reason my credit card wasn’t accepted. Phooey.

I have watched all the videos, read all the info, get the daily team updates, and am wishing I was in New York to see the end of their run. So if you live in NYC, don’t have any plans for September 4th, and want to go support an AMAZING cause I’d check it out if I were you!

Would I be a part of this type of team and run around the world if I could? YOU BET!!!!

For another good running cause don’t forget to check out my previous post about 5K35; of course, there’s also my own running a marathon for advancement on blood cancer research.

Blue Planet Run
Leave a Reply

Categories

