Posted by: Run For Life | 16 August, 2007

Clif Shot Bloks v.s. Sharkies

I’ve tried out both these products and here’s my take on them:

Clif Shot Bloks
Sharkies

Clif Shot Bloks
I like the Clif brand things so I was eager to test these babies out.  I picked up the Cran-Razz flavoured ones.  The package instructs taking three to six bloks every 30 mins. I could in no way possible do three, let alone SIX.  The bloks are very soft/chewy and taste good – tangy and not too sweet (though the consistency is a bit odd…kind of similar to jam) The real problem was the SIZE.  They are HUGE.  I put one in my mouth and felt like a little kid that was trying to shove the rest of their dinner down so they could go outside and play.  So, the next time I needed to take some I ate half a blok at a time which I still found big especially for consuming while running.  Plus, having to guzzle H20 after made me dread every half hour and I seriously wanted the Clif gels instead.

Sharkies
Well, I have to admit that I was immediately attracted to these because they are called Sharkies and shaped like sharks! (Shhhh…don’t tell anyone I’m this ridiculous and fall for marketing ploys like no tomorrow!)  So anyway, these are USDA Organic and made with whole ingredients (yay!) I picked up the variety pack which has all their flavours in one pack.  they are SMALL, so easy to eat while running.  They are also less chewy than the Shot Bloks but I find this makes them easier to eat.  They remind me of the strawberry fruit snacks my mum used to buy me as a treat once in a blue moon that were small but harder than gummie bears; that is an entirely different tangent though 😛 (guess I have my little kid moments, eh?)

Verdict: Sharkies win.  Even over the Sport Beans (because of the organic & whole ingredients factor.) The great thing is that after I tried the Sharkies I found out they will be supplied during the marathon, which is awesome!  So I stocked up on a few packs and will definitely stick to these chews for my runs.  Now I just need to figure out the brand of energy gels, bars. and drinks I want.

Leave a Reply

Categories

