Posted by: Run For Life | 18 June, 2007

I hate cancer, RAWR!!!

Someone who has been reading my blog told me that their dad had lymphoma a number of years ago and that it cleared up….however, they just recently found out that the cancer has returned.  He just started chemo again.

I also had a voicemail today from my running mentor.  He left a nice message saying he hoped everything was going well with me since I missed Sunday’s run and also has made a donation to me.  He then let me know that his mum was just diagnosed with terminal cancer and that he will not be around this week.

I can’t say how sorry I am to hear these things.

Sometimes it is so overwhelming.  My heart breaks.  I become even more determined to do something about it.  Yes, I’m training for a marathon and trying to raise at LEAST $4,500 CND for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society by doing so…but there is still a definite tinge of helplessness I feel.

If you would like to share anything with me (stories, struggles, general comments) please feel free to post a comment or send me a private message.

Also, I will wear the names of people while I run so if you would like me to add a name to that list please let me know.

Leave a Reply

Categories

